Chief Cheekuk was the original chief on record from 1874 until his death in 1880. His headman included Kayquasukkeemeeskunk, Keesick, Passang, Wakawesit, Wesackkeepiness, Pahsunk, and Mesakeepiness. In 1874, Treaty 4 was signed on behalf of Canada with the Saulteaux, Assiniboian, Cree, and other Indians inhabiting the south and central plains of North-West Territories. On September 8, 1875, Cheekuk (the worthy one), a Saulteaux Chief, adhered to Treaty #4 on behalf of what later become known as the Muscowpetung Band.

According to historical records, Chief Cheekuk passed away in March of 1880, where Chief Muscowpetung took over along with headmen Pasung, Keesik (John Moore), and Kaquatacommesung. Chief Muscowpetung lead along with Pasung and Kaquatacomemesung on August 8, 1881. Chief Muscowpetung led the tribe until his death in 1915. Chief Muscowpetung’s headmen included Muscowcappo (Albert Cappo), Pasung, Keesick, Meshakeepnase (John Keepness), Apickinew, and Thunder Striking the Ground.