This is a notice of Muscowpetung Saulteaux Nation Nominations and Elections 2022

WHEREAS in accordance with the Muscowpetung Saulteaux Nation Custom Election Act (the “Act”) a general election will be held on the 1st day of April 2022, to elect one (1) individual to the office of Chief and five (5) individuals to the office of Councillor for a term of four (4) years

A nomination meeting for determining the Candidates that will run for the office of Chief and the office of Councillor will be held on the 2nd day of March 2022 on Muscowpetung Saulteaux Nation Reserve No. 80 at the Muscowpetung Saulteaux Nation Educational Centre beginning at 3:00 pm and ending at 6:00 pm.

Please read the attached notice:

Electors that wish to vote by electronic ballot must please use the following link:

Online voting polls will open at 9:00 am on March 25, 2022, and will close on April 1, 2022, at 8:00 pm.

Electors may obtain a copy of the Voters List and a copy of the Act from the Chief Electoral Officer using the contact information at the bottom of this notice of nomination.

For more information about the nomination meeting and the scheduled general election, you may contact the Chief Electoral Officer or Deputy Electoral Officer using the information below:

Burke Ratte

Chief Electoral Officer

P.O. Box 405, 1364 McPhillips Street Winnipeg, MB R2X 2M4

1-204-228-4786 (cell)

1-877-231-7769 (toll free)

1-204-334-9778 (fax)

Muscowpetung Mission Statement

By working together, our sovereign and treaty people, will strive to grow and develop a strong nation for present and future generations.

About Muscowpetung Saulteaux Nation

Chief Cheekuk was the original chief on record from 1874 until his death in 1880. His headman included Kayquasukkeemeeskunk, Keesick, Passang, Wakawesit, Wesackkeepiness, Pahsunk, and Mesakeepiness. In 1874, Treaty 4 was signed on behalf of Canada with the Saulteaux, Assiniboian, Cree, and other Indians inhabiting the south and central plains of North-West Territories. On September 8, 1875, Cheekuk (the worthy one), a Saulteaux Chief, adhered to Treaty #4 on behalf of what later become known as the Muscowpetung Band.

According to historical records, Chief Cheekuk passed away in March of 1880, where Chief Muscowpetung took over along with headmen Pasung, Keesik (John Moore), and Kaquatacommesung. Chief Muscowpetung lead along with Pasung and Kaquatacomemesung on August 8, 1881. Chief Muscowpetung led the tribe until his death in 1915. Chief Muscowpetung’s headmen included Muscowcappo (Albert Cappo), Pasung, Keesick, Meshakeepnase (John Keepness), Apickinew, and Thunder Striking the Ground.

The Muscowpetung Saulteaux Nation currently has nearly 1600 registered band members with nearly 500 living on reserve in the beautiful scenic Qu’Appelle Valley.

Chief Melissa Tavita, Councillor Barry Cappo, Shane Keepness, Terence Cappo, Byron Toto and Thomas Pratt are the current elected officials and will serve the community until the end of their term March 2022.

The Muscowpetung has owns three local businesses on reserve including the Muscowpetung “Stop n Go” Convenience Store, Mino Maskihki Cannabis Dispensary and Muscowpetung Security Services which employs many local band members at each business.

Total Population
On-reserve Population
Kilometres North of Regina
Kilometres West of Fort Qu’Appelle

Like our Muscowpetung Saulteaux Nation #80 Official FaceBook Page for more updates.